Save the date for the 2020 Race for Open Space

Saturday July 11, 2020

Milestone Cranberry Bog, 220 Milestone Rd

2 mile walk / 5K race / 10K race

Registration starts at 6:30

Race starts at 8:00

BACK FOR 2020!

The 2020 race will be back at the Milestone Cranberry Bog and better than ever.  This will be the fourth year on our Jog In The Bog course, held entirely on Foundation-owned property: no public roads, no traffic, no parking limitations, and unlimited open space vistas! Organized by the Nantucket Conservation Foundation Associates, this 5K (3.1 miles) or 10K (6.2 miles) race or 2 mile walk attracts serious runners, casual joggers, walkers and those who are simply avid conservation supporters. Proceeds from the Race will go to the Foundation’s Land Fund which helps to preserve and protect the Island’s invaluable open spaces.


Parking will be available at the Milestone Cranberry Bog.


The race for open space is held rain or shine.

Online registration now available!

Please take advantage of registering online in advance.

Race Course:

The 5K (3.1 miles) and 10K (6.2 miles) course for runners, and separate 2 mile course for walkers will begin and end at the Milestone Cranberry Bog (220 Milestone Road). Please note that the courses consist of both hardpacked dirt and grass terrain.

*Please note that due to the off-road terrain and narrow paths at points throughout the race, only jogging strollers will be permitted.


Professional timing and results are provided by All Sports Events, LLC. Results will be posted instantly and will be made available online through their website - View 2019 results here.


Prizes will be presented to the winners in each of the male and female age groups for 5K and 10K (12 & Under, 13-19, 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60-69, and 70+). Overall Men's and Women's winners and runners up will also receive prizes.

We would like to thank our generous sponsors for supporting this very special event! 

Interested in becoming a sponsor? Contact Grace Hull (


2019 Title Sponsors

2019 Gold Sponsors

2019 Silver Sponsors

2019 Bronze Sponsors